the spark

I am feeling a little down on music for the past few days. Songs I love are inspiring the same level of emotion as songs with the equivalent of a rice cakes. This happens to me every so often and I dread it! The only silver lining is that when the switch flips, it usually flips when I find an album that I l-o-v-e. So here’s to finding that album sooner than later.

Last time this happened, Blood Candy by the Posies snapped me out of it in a big way. I must have listened to that album in both its digital and vinyl format about a thousand times. Seeing them live only further sealed my obsession for that album. Just the opening track alone, Plastic Paperbacks, is a classic and Kenneth Stringfellow never fails to deliver a vocal that makes me curl my toes (in a good way). If you are a fan of this album, be sure to check out the videos of the Posies in the KEXP studio, great performances of a couple of the tracks from the album plus a couple of the old favorites.

So here’s to the Posies and to the band will again reignite my musical spark, hurry.

Leave a Reply

