Musical Comfort Food

Certain albums are like a hot heaping bowl of homemade macaroni & cheese, providing a generous portion of happy memories and a feeling of general well-being. Each person’s comfort food albums develop much like their list of real comfort foods, from dishes your Mon made, holiday traditions or a Grandmother’s speciality.

Comfort food albums develop the same way. They are the albums that remind you of a simpler time, the ones you literally wore out to the point of replacement and the ones that bring you back to favorite eras in your past.  For me, the albums that really take me back aren’t necessarily the albums that I still listen to on a regular basis. I am sure this has helped retain their luster of the past as they are not tainted with present attachments.

Putting on a comfort food album is like visiting with an old friend you haven’t seen in years. You retell old stories, you are reminded of things you have forgotten about and if you are lucky you find a new connection.

I will not apologize for my list. It is what it is, a small collection of the albums that make me feel all warm and gooshy inside

  • The Lemonheads – It’s a Shame About Ray
  • Oasis – (What’s the Story) Morning Glory Dinosaur Jr
  • Seahorses – Do It Yourself
  • Billy Pilgrim – Billy Pilgrim
  • Juliana Hatfield – Hey Babe
  • Ross Rice – Umpteen
  • Temple of the Dog – Temple of  the Dog
  • Dinosaur Jr. – Where You Been
  • The Replacements – All Shook Down
  • The Jayhawks – Hollywood Town Hall
One response to “Musical Comfort Food

  1. It’s A Shame About Ray is definitely one of my favorite albums of all time. I’m psyched to be seeing them perform that album in its entirety in March, can’t wait!

    As for the rest of your list, we have really similar tastes. I thought I was the only Mats fan who *loves* All Shook Down, it’s so underrated. Hollywood Town Hall is my favorite Jayhawks album as well. I saw them back in October, amazing show. Their new album is great, in case you haven’t heard it.

Leave a Reply

