SXSW 2012: For starters

It is now five  days since my last post and I’m not too far behind in my listening. I’m about 45 bands into the list of 500.
 
Before I get to what bands have sparked my interest, may I for just one moment, issue a blanket statement to all bands at large. Do not make it difficult for interested parties to find your music, especially on your own site. If I have not ever heard your music, it is not likely that I will want to read your blog, buy your merch, follow you on twitter or see how super cool you look in your pictures. Don’t forget that a band is about the music they make, or at least it should be.
 
OK, stepping off the soap box now. On to my picks out of the first 45 bands on the SXSW  list of 500…
 
  • 1, 2, 3  – The sxsw class of 2012 was looking good right out of the box! 1, 2, 3 is the first band on the list and I found myself listening to a few songs, “Scared but not that scared”, “Going Away Party” and “Confetti”. Having such a treat at the beginning of the list felt like a reward for embarking on this challenge. 
  •  Alabama Shakes – had heard a couple of songs before this and like the sound. They have such a huge hype behind them right now and good for them. It’s nice when a real band from an out-of-the-way place gets deserved hype, more power to them.
  •  Balthazar – currently digging on this as I write. They have a certain Louis XIV quality, dark and sexy with raw lyrics and cool harmonies.
 
 I can’t get over the lift off this song has
 
 
And from my home state, the Alabama Shakes
 
 
Leave a Reply

