My Current Vinyl Obsession

A recent purchase at the local record shop has further strengthened my love for the concept of music on vinyl.

I had a handful of the songs on my iPod from Something/Anything? by Todd Rundgren but I am embarrassed to admit that I would still skip some of the tunes on a consistent basis. Getting this on vinyl opened my eyes to its brilliance. This is a perfect example of why vinyl is better and how listening to an album on vinyl is completely different from the disposable, skip friendly nature of digital format music.

Case in point, I often skipped “It Wouldn’t Have Made Any Difference”  and had essentially forgotten the breakdown at the bridge that takes the song to this completely funky little spot. Not only is it  a great song but in the context of this album it makes this perfect trio/bridge between track 1 and 2.

It is doubtful that anyone reading this blog has to be convinced of the greatness of this album but just in case you are a little late to the Rundgren party, buy this album now…on vinyl of course.

Todd Rundgren Something/Anything?

Side one

  1. I Saw the Light” – 2:56
  2. “It Wouldn’t Have Made Any Difference” – 3:50
  3. “Wolfman Jack” – 2:54
  4. “Cold Morning Light” – 3:55
  5. “It Takes Two to Tango (This Is for the Girls)” – 2:41
  6. “Sweeter Memories” – 3:36

Side two

  1. “Intro” – 1:11
  2. “Breathless” – 3:15
  3. “The Night the Carousel Burnt Down” – 4:29
  4. “Saving Grace” – 4:12
  5. “Marlene” – 3:54
  6. “Song of the Viking” – 2:35
  7. “I Went to the Mirror” – 4:05

Side three

  1. “Black Maria” – 5:20
  2. “One More Day (No Word)” – 3:43
  3. “Couldn’t I Just Tell You” – 3:34
  4. “Torch Song” – 2:52
  5. “Little Red Lights” – 4:53

Side four

  1. “Overture—My Roots: Money (That’s What I Want) / Messin’ With The Kid” (Janie BradfordBerry GordyMel London) – 2:29[7]
  2. “Dust in the Wind” (Mark Klingman) – 3:49
  3. “Piss Aaron” – 3:26
  4. Hello It’s Me” – 4:42
  5. “Some Folks Is Even Whiter Than Me” – 3:56
  6. “You Left Me Sore” – 3:13
  7. “Slut” – 4:03
Leave a Reply

