Low Times

School of Seven Bells have been making songs that get imbedded into my brain for a few years now and a few of the tracks off the latest album, Ghostory, are no different.  “Low Times” stands out as my favorite so far.

SoSB walk a fine line between trance-inducing, yoga soundtrack waves of sound and aggressive rhythms with the heart of rock.

Since they have become  a duo (formerly a trio) I do miss some of the unique harmonies created by the twin sister vocalists but I can get over it since the album is really solid. It tells a story of Lafaye  and her lost love. And since I am a total sucker for the use of music to tell a complete story, kind of like an album equivalent of a novel, this is right up my alley.

Although this has nothing to do with SoSB there is something about “Low Times” that reminds me of a Pulp song “Seductive Barry”. I guess it’s the melody line of the chorus… you be the judge.

Leave a Reply

